Why can’t some members see the truth?

Some people will just not let themselves accept the truth, even when it slaps them in the face!

I didn’t for a long time!

It’s how are subconscious minds work.

The ultimate goal of our brains is ‘our perception of happiness!’

If the truth doesn’t fit with our mind’s concept of happiness then we reject it -no matter what!

Cognitive dissonance churns around inside our heads until eventually, hopefully, we become strong enough to accept the truth no matter how much it might hurt initially, no matter what the consequences might mean to us.

As long as truth, & following the truth, is the most important thing to us!

For some, following a myth, no matter how bizarre & contrived, is worth lying to themselves about inside their subconscious minds, as long as it makes them happy!

I did, for far too long!

The trouble with the Church is we’re programmed to fear anything which causes cognitive dissonance as from the devil!

This entry was posted in Mormon Issues, Religious Epiphany, TRUTH. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why can’t some members see the truth?

  1. shan says:

    Steve, what I have found as the only way through all of this is to love, love, love. I love my children even when they don’t know how to love me because they think I have lost my marbles for changing my beliefs in the church. I understand how hard it is for them to see me changing, since a few years ago I would have rather died than to change my beliefs in the church. Now I realize my testimony was in Jesus to begin with, and the church gladly and subtly became the go-between. Now I am in true relationship with Christ, who gives me strength to live the truth, since my eyes have been opened and the veil of my heart has been rent, so I can live in close relationship to Him without all these brethren between us. Oh, and I love myself better now because I don’t expect myself to be perfect – my only perfection is in my Lord Jesus.

    • stevebloor says:

      Thank you Shannon,

      I really love the sentiment & heartfelt deep emotional feelings to which you refer.

      Even though I do not currently have a belief in the supernatural or God, I understand where you are coming from and respect your position.

      I can relate to how leaving the Church has allowed you to love yourself as a person without needing to feel guilty for not being perfect. One can be perfect as we are.

      I love other human beings more now than ever before, as I now feel somehow a part of the human race for the first time.

      If there is a God, I believe He/She/It loves me & all of the human race & accepts our humble attempts at reason & trying to live good moral values without needing to worship Him/Her/It.

Leave a Reply

