John Dehlin

John has done more for Mormons to find peace in their lives than anyone else I have ever known.

John is an inspiration to those who know him because of his amazing courage, empathy and insight into the issues causing thousands of Mormons emotional turmoil.

Without his understanding and compassion our lives would seem so bleak!

Thank you John

This entry was posted in Religious Epiphany. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to John Dehlin

  1. Jen says:

    I too am very grateful for John Dehlin. He brought together a whole group of people who were willing to talk. I couldn’t find anyone who would let me ask questions, or wonder, and because of John, I now have MANY friends I can connect with.

  2. JackUK says:

    I’m with you on this one Steve, John Dehlin has put himself on the line to help those of us with questioning minds in the LDS faith and I’m very grateful to him. I’ve been listening to Mormon Stories since day one back in 2005 and the interviews that has John conducted have kept me sane! His conversations with Grant Palmer and most recently with Jared Anderson I hope John’s ideas about the future for uncorrelated Mormons come to fruition. I’m still an active, though heavily uncorrelated member of the LDS church. I haven’t reached the stage where I can walk away from it yet and the podcasts, along with Mormon Matters and Mormon Expression actually help me stay in. I reached the stage some years ago, about 2001 I think, where I realised the LDS Church is a very human institution and like any human construct contained both truth and error. I can live with the ambiguity because at the moment I still feel a connection to Christ when I attend church and I’m lucky enough to have other uncorrelated friends in the ward so I’ll be staying for the foreseeable…Good luck to you in your new path Steve. I hope you continue to find peace and happiness
    By the way, I think you and I met a few times when you lived in the north of England…

  3. Jonathan M. says:

    I always feel sad when someone leaves the church (although I might make an exception were Glenn Beck to do so!) Have to say a church that is losing its thinkers in rapid numbers is a church in trouble. I joined the church in London in 1975 having been raised as a Reform/Progressive Jew. I have been “less active” for many years. Personally, nonetheless, there is so much about the church (and so many Mormons) that I still love. The church and some of its thoughtful, wonderful members helped me develop into a better, more educated person than I otherwise would have been. Of that, I have no doubt. Personally, I have never felt any desire to formerly resign from the church as a consequence. Although agnostic, I have my many faults, detesting as I do, sites I consider needlessly vulgar and vitriolic, such as “Recovery from Mormonism”. I live in hope that, as happened with Judaism, a formal progressive mormon church will emerge in my lifetime (I am now 54 and live in Australia).

    I have to say that I am somewhat surprised that the Community of Christ has not made more of an effort to win over some of our disaffected members of liberal persuasion. Having attended a number of their services before they became the CofC on several continents, I was impressed by their greater openness and willingness in tolerating a wide-range of viewpoints. In the end, though, culturally they felt a little too close to protestantism for my personal taste. But, if only a few thousand former TBM’s joined each year, I guess it would soon come to feel more like a spiritual home for former Mormons. In the absence of what I really wish for (the emergence of a progressive mormon church that is worthy of the name) that may be a viable alternative for some.

  4. John Dehlin saved my mental health….believe it or not, Montana had an independent spirit even in the church and I lived there for 3 decades. When we moved back to Utah in 2002, going to church in South Jordan was repressive and depressing and I experienced 2 horrible bouts of depression. I left many meetings in church crying and saying to myself something is horribly wrong. One day on youtube, I stumbled across John’s “Why people leave the LDS church….” and it led me to mormonstories podcasts and I devoured them…..next came ordering tons of books from amazon and onto mormonexpressions & mormonmatters. There was a price to pay…..my family relationships, etc. but I discovered me and my brain. My husband eventually followed me in my quest for truth & reality. We quit being temple workers and then our attendance soon came to a hault. When we can, we will return to Montana…..we felt accepted there as mormons and Montana will accept us as non-mormons. Missoula is especially liberal and there is a support group.

  5. Jason says:

    The best thing about reading stories like Steve’s and others is to know that I’m not alone with the feelings that I have. I am basically in the same boat as JackUK above. Eventhough I don’t always agree with Steve’s comments, views, etc… it helps just to hear the thoughts and opinions of others, who like me think and feel differently.

    Anyway, the point of this post, being British and identifying more with the challenges of British saints (or probably just non-American), I’d love for John Dehlin to do a Steve Bloor interview. When’s it going to happen???

Leave a Reply

