Barefoot at Church

As a 24/7 barefooter I also wanted to do what I consider the healthiest way to walk, and be able to attend Church barefoot on Sundays.

But was told I could not. The reason given was because as a priesthood leader I was expected to look like the ‘Brethren’, the General Authorities of the Church, who wear shoes.

Even though I’m the podiatrist with the medical background knowledge and also when I wear shoes my neuroma is really painful, I had to obey!

I did have one ally in a 60 year old member who had been barefoot all her life.

There are very many reasons I would have wanted to stay in the LDS (Mormon) Church. Having an influence on members attitudes about barefoot walking was a small, but important reason to stay.

Unfortunately, my religious epiphany put pay to that. Now, I have no influence, which is a real shame.

This entry was posted in Barefoot. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Barefoot at Church

  1. Neuromas are tough things to deal with. There are minimalist dress shoes out there, but be prepared to spend. Odd though, the idea that God wants shoes on your feet when you are at church.

    Exodus 3:4 And when the LORD saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses. And he said, Here am I.
    Exodus 3:5 And he said, Draw not nigh hither: put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground.

  2. Peter says:

    I’m often barefoot in our evangelic church, and nobody is telling me to wear shoes.

  3. Jay says:

    It’s a simple sign of respect. A person is attending church not the beach…

  4. Asa says:

    I believe Jesus had the Apostles take off their shoes so He could wash their feet. If it is offensive to have bare feet.. Then why was that OK?

Leave a Reply

