Spiritual experiences & a testimony of the divine

As a scientific naturalist I find it fascinating what neuro-science is discovering about brain function. It is beginning to explain how our brains work. For the first time in human history we are understanding why we think & feel the way we do. We are able to identify which parts of our brains are involved in ‘spiritual’ experiences. In fact they can induce these spiritual experiences in people’s minds by means of electro-magnetic fields. (See article on the ‘God helmet’ or Koren Helmet – http://www.google.com/m/url?client=ms-android-orange-gb&devlocsession=off&ei=EFTDTuCpO4WLjAfD4gE&gl=gb&hl=en&q=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/God_helmet&source=android-launcher-search&ved=0CBQQFjAA&usg=AFQjCNG2UbMwIdeuFFZjpyum5q5jWSAG4g)

It’s becoming more & more certain that God is experienced in the mind as a process of the mind!

This was a massive shock to me, as I have previously lived my life based on spiritual experiences. Now I’m having to revaluate my perception of the world & the decisions I make based on sound logical reasoning & reliable evidence.

Having grown up in the Church it has come as a big surprise that I can no longer determine truth by feelings, nor make judgements about the credibility of my own personal spiritual experiences based purely on personal experience.

Just as I have had to re-evaluate my personal spiritual witness of the truthfulness of the Church, so to have I had to review how I knew there was a God!

It seems that information is the key in this regard as it was in my epiphany about the Church.

I’m aware it should always be a personal journey, & respect everyone’s right to believe. I also feel it is a personal responsibility to help inform other people about this information, so everyone can make informed choices.

Here is a link to a website about the nature of spiritual experiences.

http://mormonthink.com/testimonyweb.htm

This entry was posted in Mormon Issues, Religious Epiphany, TRUTH. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

